He pulls me closer. “Kiss me” he says. I obey. His voice is so compelling and demanding every bone in my body yearns to say yes and do his bidding. I cannot control my reflexes in fact. He gently places his lips on mine and caresses them with such tenderness i have no idea exists. Lips shriveled from the harmattan come alive, blood rushes into them and they dance some sort of dance that says, More.

More I get, more i give. More I yearn to learn, much more I want to teach. He holds my hands and nothing else and every curve and edge screams No! Don’t do that! Do more! He doesn’t. He lets me writhe, in pain, in shock, in pleasure, in disbelief. Just at that stroke of time, our bodies shake almost violently as the waves rush by, and it clears from our eyes. And we sit, and think about the future.

